About Us

Criminal Intelligence Bureaus

CISC Central Bureau: CISC Central Bureau is responsible for the delivery of criminal intelligence products and services to the national law enforcement community and other stakeholders responsible for public safety. It also oversees the maintenance of a criminal intelligence databank on organized crime used by the CISC membership across Canada. CISC Central Bureau is part of National Police Services, which consists of a number of different and specialized programs and services stewarded by the RCMP.

Provincial Bureaus: The ten provincial bureaus operate independently while maintaining national service delivery standards. They focus on activities within their respective provinces and guide the collection, analysis and production of criminal intelligence products and services at the provincial level. The intelligence collected and analyzed through the provincial bureaus is instrumental in the creation of the national intelligence products and services delivered by CISC Central Bureau.

Governance

National Executive Committee: CISC's strategic direction is governed by a Constitution and by the National Executive Committee (NEC). As CISC's governing body, the NEC provides strategic leadership to ensure that CISC is able to fulfill its mandate. Meeting annually, the committee is comprised of approximately 25 ex-officio members who are leaders from Canada's law enforcement community at the municipal, provincial and federal levels.

Provincial Executive Committees: The ten provincial criminal intelligence service bureaus receive strategic direction from their Provincial Executive Committee (PEC). Each of the PEC Chairs is an ex-officio member of the National Executive Committee.

National Collaboration

The Criminal Intelligence Network: CISC member agencies exchange information and intelligence on organized criminal activity. CISC Central Bureau classifies member agencies into three categories:

  • Category I – Police Agency: The agency has full police officer authority provided under a Canadian federal or provincial police act. The primary role of the agency is law enforcement and the agency contributes to the criminal intelligence process.
  • Category II – Agency with Specific Law Enforcement Role: The agency has specific but limited law enforcement responsibilities. Its authority is provided under specific federal or provincial legislation (e.g. Customs Act, Immigration Act, Provincial Wildlife Act). Category II Membership may be granted to a foreign law enforcement or intelligence agency if, as determined by the respective Provincial Executive Committee, it is deemed to be in the best interest of the broader criminal intelligence community.
  • Category III – Agency with Role Complementary to Law Enforcement: The agency has no direct law enforcement authority but provides assistance to law enforcement agencies.

Clients, Partners and Stakeholders: CISC is an active member of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police's Organized Crime Committee and the Canadian Integrated Response to Organized Crime (CIROC). In addition, CISC is a member of both the National and Regional Co-ordinating Committees' National Work Plan to Combat Organized Crime, operated by the Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers responsible for Justice and Public Safety.

Canadian Law Enforcement Strategy to Combat Organized Crime: The Canadian Law Enforcement Strategy embodies the partnership between the functions of intelligence and operations across all jurisdictions of law enforcement. This agreement enables the integration and cooperation of intelligence and operations through CISC and the Canadian Integrated Response to Organized Crime (CIROC) – under the governance of the National Executive Committee and each Provincial Executive Committee. Participating agencies commit to: contributing information to a common, national intelligence database; collecting and sharing information for the production of an annual, integrated threat assessment; and, using the resulting threat assessments for enforcement priority setting.

Date modified:

À propos de nous

Bureaux de renseignements criminels

Bureau central du SCRC : Le Bureau central est chargé de fournir des produits et des services en matière de renseignements criminels à la collectivité policière nationale et à d'autres intervenants du domaine de la sécurité publique. Il veille aussi à la tenue à jour d'une banque de renseignements sur le crime organisé qu'utilisent les membres du SCRC partout au Canada. Le Bureau central du SCRC fait partie des Services nationaux de police, qui regroupent plusieurs programmes et services spécialisés administrés par la GRC.

Bureaux provinciaux : Les dix bureaux provinciaux du SCRC sont gérés indépendamment, mais appliquent des normes nationales en matière de prestation de services. Ils se concentrent sur les activités dans leur province respective et orientent la collecte, l'analyse et la production de renseignements criminels et la prestation de services à l'échelle provinciale. L'information recueillie et analysée par les bureaux provinciaux est essentielle aux produits de renseignements et aux services fournis à l'échelle nationale par le Bureau central.

Gouvernance

Comité exécutif national : L'orientation stratégique du SCRC est régie par une Constitution et par le Comité exécutif national (CEN). À titre d'organe directeur du SCRC, le CEN fournit le leadership stratégique nécessaire au SCRC afin qu'il puisse s'acquitter de son mandat. Le CEN se réunit une fois par année et est composé d'environ 25 membres d'office qui sont des dirigeants de la collectivité canadienne d'application de la loi à l'échelle municipale, provinciale et fédérale.

Comités exécutifs provinciaux : Les dix bureaux provinciaux suivent l'orientation stratégique établie par leur comité exécutif provincial (CEP). Les présidents des CEP sont des membres d'office du CEN.

Collaboration nationale

Réseau national des renseignements criminels : Les membres du SCRC échangent information et renseignements sur les activités du crime organisé. Il existe trois catégories d'organismes membres du SCRC.

  • Catégorie I – Services de police : Services qui exercent tous les pouvoirs d'agent de la paix aux termes d'une loi canadienne fédérale ou provinciale sur la police. Leur rôle principal consiste à appliquer la loi et ils participent au processus du renseignement criminel.
  • Catégorie II – Organisme ayant un rôle précis d'exécution de la loi : Organisme qui a des responsabilités précises mais limitées en matière d'application de la loi. Son pouvoir lui est conféré par une loi fédérale ou provinciale particulière (p. ex. Loi sur les douanes, Loi sur l'immigration, loi provinciale sur la faune). Le statut de membre de catégorie II peut être accordé à un organisme étranger d'application de la loi ou de renseignements si le comité exécutif provincial est d'avis que cela est dans l'intérêt de la collectivité du renseignement criminel.
  • Catégorie III – Organisme ayant un rôle complémentaire à l'exécution de la loi : Organisme qui n'a aucun pouvoir direct d'exécution de la loi, mais qui prête main-forte aux organismes d'application de la loi.

Clients, partenaires et intervenants : Le SCRC est un membre actif du Comité sur le crime organisé de l'Association canadienne des chefs de police (ACCP) et de la Réponse intégrée canadienne au crime organisé (RICCO). De plus, il siège aux comités de coordination national et régionaux pour le Programme national de lutte contre le crime organisé, dirigé par les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Justice et de la Sécurité publique.

Stratégie canadienne d'application de la loi pour lutter contre le crime organisé :La Stratégie canadienne d'application de la loi pour lutter contre le crime organisé (SCAL) représente le partenariat entre les fonctions du renseignement et des opérations à tous les échelons de l'application de la loi. Elle permet l'intégration et la collaboration des fonctions du renseignement et des opérations par le SCRC et la RICCO, sous la gouvernance du Comité exécutif national et de chaque comité exécutif provincial. Les organismes participants s'engagent à verser l'information dans une base de renseignements commune d'envergure nationale, à recueillir de l'information et à la communiquer en vue de la production, chaque année, d'une évaluation intégrée de la menace, et à utiliser ces évaluations de la menace pour établir les priorités en matière d'application de la loi.

Date de modification :